LeftyFrets.net  

Go Back   LeftyFrets.net > Welcome To LeftyFrets.net!!! > Live and In Concert!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Live and In Concert! So you wanna be a star, huh? Post your Youtube clips or photos of you performing... or of someone that you really enjoy... right here!

Old 08-23-2013, 09:26 AM
Eminent Sultan of Flatulence

Default Gretsch demo ... thoughts?

I got inspired by Sean's recent video of his Collings so I started playing around with iMovie and did a demo of a Gretsch Duo Jet yesterday.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MT8u3f3_09c

I took a blues backing track and played the guitar, with a little overdrive, then clean, experimenting with the different pickups and tone settings.

Looking for feedback on this ... if you were in the market for an electric, is it helpful to hear the guitar in the context of a backing track like this? Would it be better to hear the guitar by itself? Both?

I also added a few photos on top of the video ... is that helpful? Distracting?

Any input is welcome. Thanks!

http://leftyguitarsonly.com

Authorized dealer for Collings, Froggy Bottom, Huss and Dalton, Lowden, PRS, Santa Cruz and more.

vic@leftyguitarsonly.com

Last edited by vic@leftiesonly : 08-23-2013 at 11:59 AM.
Old 08-23-2013, 01:07 PM

I'm not in the market for an electric, but I really liked the video. I thought the little tags addressing what you were demonstrating as you did it were good, especially for people like me who really aren't up on that sort of stuff. Bottom line, it is presenting an instrument you have for sale, doing what it does very well, in the hands of an excellent player. I'd vote yes, although you should probably wait on the thoughts of real electric players!
Old 08-23-2013, 04:39 PM

Great - another guitar I want now, thanks!